Play “Catch Up” With Me

Thursday comes.  And am still not ready.  I have taken hundreds of photos of the dishes I cooked for the past four years.  And recipes I have created and tested.  In fact, it’s taking most of my computer space.  Still.  I don’t have enough.  Sometimes, none meet with what I’m looking for.  Or, that fit the occasion.

Step by step photos are what I need.  And I need them for the hundreds of recipes I have cooked up since 2006.  When I first started on this journey.

I remember when I first taught myself how to bake bread.  From scratch.  I learned it from a book with step by step instructions, with photos.

The photos and step by step instructions helped me tremendously.  And gave me the courage to keep going.

It wasn’t until over a year ago, that I’ve started taking step by step photos on the dishes or recipes I’m working on.  Before that, I only took photos of the finished product.  Which I later realized is not sufficient enough to help those who are beginners.  Just like I once was.  Not long ago.

For me a perfect food blog post has step by step photos.  With clear, concise, and easy to follow instructions.  And I’m hoping that, that is what I’m presenting here.

Though sometimes, you’ll just have to forgive me.

~~~

As for this Roasted Chicken Club Salad Sandwiches recipe.  I think I have sufficient step by step photos to help us along…

Split chicken breasts are what we need to roast…

Rinse chicken breast under cold running water.  Place them in a large  baking sheet and pat them dry with paper towel.  Then pour some oil on the breasts and rub them all over…

And season them generously, on both sides, with salt and ground black pepper.

And roast them in preheated oven at 400°F for 50 minutes.

Remove the skins and shred the meat off the bones.

Next…

And with these ingredients. Make the salad dressing.


The salad dressing should look somewhat like this…

Add the chopped celery and onions to the shredded chicken.  Toss it to combine.

Then pour the salad dressing over the chicken, celery and onion mixture. Mix until chicken and salad dressing are combined well.


And wallah. That’s our Roasted Chicken Salad.

Get your Ciabata Rolls ready. And split them in half.

You could also just other breads such as rye, white or wheat.  Though I prefer Italian breads.  Especially the fresh ones…


First line the Ciabata roll with lettuce or spring mix greens.

Then top it with the Roasted Chicken Salad.


Top bacon over the chicken salad. (I usually allow one slice of bacon per sandwich. I break one slice in half.)

And there you are.  Our Roasted Chicken Salad Club Sandwich.

Serve with your choice of soup or your favorite potato chips or pretzels.

Roasted Chicken Club Salad Sandwiches

Yield:  8 Ciabata Rolls Sandwiches

Shredded Roasted Chicken Breasts – see recipe below

2 celery stalks – chopped

½ medium size red onion – chopped

Salad Dressing – see recipe below

8 thick slices bacon – cooked and crispy

8 green lettuce leaves – washed and patted dry or Spring Mix

8 Ciabata Rolls

In a large mixing bowl.  Combine shredded chicken, chopped celery and onions.  Add salad dressing.  Mix until salad dressing is combined well with the chicken, celery and onions.

Using a sharp knife.  Split Ciabata rolls

Line each roll with a lettuce leaf.

Scoop about ½ cup of Roasted Chicken salad mixture over the lettuce leaf

Break one crispy slice of bacon in half and top it over the chicken salad.  Place the half of Ciabata rolls over the filled sandwich.

Serve with your choice of soup or with your favorite potato chips.

Roasted Split Chicken Breasts:

3 – 4 split chicken breasts (about 4 pounds) – bone in and skin on

3 TBSPs. olive oil or cooking oil

4 tsps. coarse sea salt or 2 tsps. kosher salt

2 tsps. freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Remove chicken from the package and rinse under cold running water.  Pat dry with paper towels.  And place chicken in a heavy-duty baking sheet.  Line with aluminum foil.

Drizzle olive oil over the chicken breasts and rub the oil all over the chicken.

Generously season the chicken breasts, on both sides, with coarse sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.

And roast them, skin sides up, in a preheated oven at 400°F for 50 minutes.  Cool the chicken to safely handle.

Remove the skins.

(By the way.  The skins are really crunchy.  And I usually eat them while they’re still warm.  Though they are a bit salty.  But don’t worry.  All that salt is only on the skins.  Only a negligible penetrated to the meat.)

Tear the chicken meat off the bones.  Shred into chunks and place in a large mixing bowl.  Discard the bones.  And the skins.

Salad Dressing:

1 cup real mayonnaise

2 tsps. Dijon mustard

½ tsp. dried tarragon leaves

½ tsp. ground coriander

1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

2 tsp. kosher salt

Combine salad dressing ingredients in a bowl.  Set aside.

Tess’ Kitchen Secrets:

#1 – Coarse Celtic sea salt.  I love to roast chicken breasts with coarse sea salt.  This salt gives the chicken a better taste as compared to regular or kosher salt.

#2 – Roasted chicken used for chicken salad has more texture and taste as compared to the ones that’s been boiled.

#3 – The celery and onions gives the chicken salad a good crunch.

#4 – Also.  I prefer to use Spring Mix greens over lettuce leaves.  I think the Spring Mix Greens has more nutrients than the lettuce leaves.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris


10 thoughts on “Play “Catch Up” With Me

  1. Truthfully, I try NOT to read your blog much. I’m celiac (cannot eat grains or gluten) and the recipes and photos you have here are divine!! Too tempting!

    • Thank you Becky!

      I completely understand.

      And I am sorry that you are unable to eat grains or anything with gluten… I hope that you’ll find something in here that will work for you.

      I will keep you in mind in future postings…

  2. Tess, I too enjoy the step by step instructions. Even though I consider myself a good cook, visualizing along the way makes things fit into place, so much better. Especially if it’s a new recipe to me. Thanks for taking the extra step in doing that. I love the cooked chicken skins too. lol I know it’s not good for you , but…… can’t go to waste. I made several batches of chicken salad last year. My recipe is very simular to yours. For an added crunch, I throw into mine roasted walnut pieces, and chopped red seedless grapes. Talk about yummy 🙂

    Keep up the great site you have going here Tess. I look forward to it every week 🙂

    • Hi Tess!

      Thank you. It does. I’m the same way. Good visuals always help.

      Roasted walnut pieces sounds tasty. Though I’d be the only one eating the salad. Because Willie and Ramon are not into nuts… I’ve seen a lot of people add seedless grapes to their salad. Something I actually haven’t tried. I’m sure the sweet grapes contrasting the saltiness of the salad is good. I’d have to try that one of these days. Again. Only on my plate… 🙂

      Thanks Tess! 🙂

  3. Tess I think you should invest in getting an external hard drive or a flash drive to store all your stuff & that way you can free up some space on your computer. I keep all my work stuff on a flash drive….its a safety thing for me though cause if my computer crashes at least I don’t lose all my important work info. Shit girl I’m sure you don’t wanna lose all your recipes or photos either….I would hear you screaming here in Canada if you did…LOL.

    I like your step by step instructions with pics. Maybe I’m being selfish but for some reason it makes it easier for me so TY 🙂 I’m really liking your sandwich blogs cause me luvs having a nice bowl of soup & a sandwich & your sandwiches are giving me more of a variety from my usually BTL, tuna, westerns, grilled cheese or cold cut. I know I’m gunna luv this sandwich for sure & BTW we made the avocado BTLs last weekend & they were a big hit with everyone…..they were AWESOME. Also wanted to say that I only use sea salt now & that is cause of you & your right it does make things taste better.

    Keep the recipes coming ~ my tummy luvs them & if I haven’t said this before….thnx for taking the time & all the work you do to share your recipes with us. I truly appreciate it……huggggerooos 🙂

    • Hi Mario!

      Thank you. Yeah. I actually have an external hard drive that my son got me two years ago. And so, I back up my stuff occasionally. A lot of times, I’m too lazy to plug them in and back up my photos and recipes. I’m such a bum sometimes. I should learn my lessons by now. Because my computer crashed four years ago. And I literally cried… I’m sure I will cry again. 🙂

      Thank you. I do too. Though I am having to re-shoot a lot of my photos. I don’t have step by step photos for all my recipes. Very time consuming. But it’s worth the efforts.

      I’m glad you are enjoying the sandwiches. And had great success on the Avocado BLT. Thanks for telling me. I appreciate it…

      Yes. Sea salt. I love sea salt! Especially Gray Celtic Sea Salt. They’re a bit expensive. But really takes the taste to another level. I have been using them on my pan fried steaks lately…

      You’re welcome. I’m happy to share…

      Hugs!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Play “Catch Up” With Me « AmerAsian Home Cooking -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment