Avocado BLT Sandwiches

I wasn’t sure what I was going to post today.  But whatever I decide, it has to be something simple and easy.  For both you, and me.

And that’s exactly what this Avocado BLT Sandwiches are.

If it weren’t for the slices of bacon.  These sandwiches are almost healthy.  But who can refuse bacon?  I love bacon.  I absolutely love it!  Don’t you….?

Com’on.  I know I am not alone in this department.

I particularly love the thick bacon slices.  They are perfect.  Especially for these sandwiches.

As for the avocados.  You have to pick the ripe ones.  But firm to the touch.  To be sure, look at each one.  Inspect them on all sides.

I know there’s not a 100% guarantee you’re going to pick the perfect avocados.  No matter how careful you are in choosing them.  And that’s not your fault. Or mine.

The avocados at the grocery stores have been picked from the tree months ago.  And who knows how long they have been sitting in the grocery bin?

When I was a little girl.  We were around avocados.  Perfectly ripe avocados.  Minutes fresh from the tree.  But at that time, we simply didn’t know what to do with them.  Our neighbors didn’t know either.  So we simple mashed them up.  Added sugar to it.  And walla.  Sweet mashed avocado.  Or for a fancier version, a drizzle of evaporated milk is added to the mixture.  But we can only eat so much mashed avocados with sugar.  And when eaten by itself.  Avocados are bland.  So we let the rest go to spoil.

We didn’t know that other countries, like America, have so much uses for them.  Such as making guacamole, California rolls, sandwiches, and more.  If only we knew.  But of course we didn’t.  We didn’t know anything.  I come from a family and community of ignoramus.

My husband always tells me:  you all could have gone to a library and read a book!  What library?  Where?  In our barrio?  I didn’t find out there was a place called library until I was in college.  And even then.  I was too shy to go in there!  It was staffed with mean looking, condescending girls.  Looking as if they are going to swat me with a stick if I make the wrong move!  Or say a word.  Or ask them questions.  But then he says:  You have no excuse! I don’t want to hear it!  I hate when he says this.  I really do.  Because he makes me feel even more of a dumb ass.  He is right of course.  Maybe we all could have read a book.  Any book.  I simply wasn’t raise in an environment that read.

My father could not read.  Nor write.  He only knew how to scribble his name on a dotted line.  I’m sure I had told you this before.

My mother was the smartest in our family.  She finished fifth grade.  She could read and write.  And could speak decent English.  In fact, she was my first English teacher.  She once worked as a maid for an American family.  Right after World War II.  When the Americans liberated us from the Japanese.  The American family had two children.  A son and a daughter.  And she was their nanny.  And that’s how she learned and practiced the English language.

As for reading.  The only books we read were the text books issued to us from school.  And we didn’t study English literature or world history.  And I think this explains a lot why we act the way we do as a people.  And as a country.

We haven’t advanced much.  It’s true that Filipinos work around the world as skilled and technical workers.  Medical workers.  Domestic helpers.  But I don’t know if I will call these advancements.  Yes. The remittances from Filipino overseas workers accounts for 10% of the country’s gross domestic product.  And still increasing year, after year.

What does this mean?  This means, we are a people who can adapt anywhere.  Anyplace.  Anytime.  This also means that we are expendable labor.  Readily exported and exploited for the right price.

Well.  OK.  Let’s get back to the Avocado BLT sandwiches…

You will need the following:

Thick bacon slices.

Cooked and drained.

I’ve tried cooking bacon in a preheated oven at 400°F for 15 to 25 minutes.   This is how restaurants cook their bacon.  But, I must say.  I prefer cooking bacon the old fashioned way.  And here is why.

The oven cooked bacon is greasier.  Even after they have been drained and patted with paper towels.  Whereas the ones cooked in a a skillet… are crisper and less greasy.  Takes longer.  But I’d cook bacon in a skillet anytime.

Ciabata Rolls

Or whole Ciabata bread. Or Flat bread.

During the time I took this photo.  I was making sandwiches for Ramon.  Thus I only slice what I needed.

And then I sliced the bread in half.  And generously smear each half with real mayonnaise.  Or mayonnaise on one half.  And mustard in the other half.

Sprinkle each half with freshly ground black pepper.

Next.  Layer thin slices of tomatoes and red onions over one half of the bread.

Again.  Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Generously layer a ‘spring mix greens’ over the tomatoes and onion layers.

Layer the av0cado slices over the ‘spring mix greens.’

And finally.  Top all the layers of tomatoes, onions, spring  mix, avocados with slices of bacon.

Place the other half of Ciabata bread on top.

And slice them.

Two slices for each person.

Serve with your choice of potato chips or soup.

Here’s the recipe:

Avocado BLT Sandwiches

Serves 3 – 4 people

1 package (16 ounces) Thick Bacon Cuts – cooked and drained

1 Ciabata Bread or Flat Bread

Real Mayonnaise

Large ripe tomato – thinly sliced

Half of Red Onion – thinly sliced

Spring Mix greens or baby spinach (get the ones that have been thoroughly washed and ready to use)

2 ripe large Avocados – half avocado for each person

Fine sea salt or kosher salt

Freshly ground black pepper

Split the Ciabata bread.  Smear each half, cut side, with mayonnaise.  Sprinkle with freshly ground black pepper.

Line the thinly sliced tomatoes over on one of the bread halves.  Generously sprinkle salt and black pepper over the thinly sliced tomatoes.

Place a layer of thinly sliced red onions over the tomatoes.

Generously layer spring mix greens, or baby spinach over the tomato and onion layer.

Layer avocado slices over the spring mix green.  Generously sprinkle salt and black pepper over the avocado slices.

Line the cooked and drained bacon over the avocado layer.

Place the other bread half over the one with filled with avocados and bacon.

Slice the whole sandwich into three and then slice each third in half.

Serve sandwiches with your choice of soup.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

4 thoughts on “Avocado BLT Sandwiches

  1. I’ve been known to sneak in a piece or two of bacon every now and then 🙂 Just something about the crunch and salty taste that makes me crave for it. As for the avocado, I must be ignorant, because I don’t believe that I’ve ever tasted it before. I don’t eat guacamole because of the looks and what it reminds me of. lol After nursing 4 kids, that picture is still blasted in my head! But I should at least give it a taste, and just go from there. The sandwich sounds yummy. Bet if the bread was lightly toasted, it would be good too. I can tell this will be a chewy sandwich, but worth it when it’s all said and done 🙂 Thanks Tess!

    • You’re funny Tess. And you have a wild imagination! 🙂

      You’re right. You could toast the bread in an oven toaster or under the broiler. Or warm it up in the oven at 350F for 7 – 10 minutes. I was just too lazy to do it at that moment… 🙂

      Mmmm! Yeah. Chewy for sure. I just LOVE breads… Italian breads especially!

      You’re welcome. And thanks!

  2. I’m on team bacon for sure. I never refuse bacon……NEVER. I even put bacon on my grill cheese sandwiches…..YUM. This sandwich sounds AWESOME Tess & I want one right now. I never use to like avocado but since you mentioned about adding it to soup I luv it. I wasn’t planning on going out today cause its so bloody cold but now I gotta head out to the bakery & pick up a fresh Ciabata bread & then to the store to get everything else but I know it will be worth freezin my chestnuts…LOL. Got some friends coming over later for the game & this will be perfect to serve.

    Thnx for another gr8 meal. You are gunna make me fat 🙂

    Hugzzzzzzzz

    • You’re welcome Mario. And thank you!

      Mmmmm! Fresh Ciabata… I’d like to have one right out of the oven. I bet that’s really good. I might eat it by itself. I love the smell of fresh bread…

      Nah. As much as you workout! I don’t think you’ll ever get fat… If anything… you’ll put on more muscles!!! 🙂

      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

