Banana Dates Bread

Bananas are one of the most inexpensive, most accessible, potassium rich fruit.  My love for bananas is conditional.  There is certain ripeness that’s perfect for me.  That’s when they are golden yellow.  The stems are no longer dark green.  Sweet and lightly firm.  This is the stage before the bananas start to accumulate brown spots.  Once bananas have brown spots on them, they are over-ripe.  The flesh starts to taste mushy and no longer firm.  At this stage, bananas are no longer ideal to eat as they are.  However, at this over-ripe stage, with brown spots all over the peel, they are perfect for making breads, cakes, muffins and pancakes.  They would be perfect for this recipe.

You don’t need an electric mixer to make this banana bread.  You only need your hand, a spatula, a large bowl, and loaf pans.  And of course the ingredients…

You need the following:

Ripe bananas.

Peeled and roughly mashed.

Self-rising flour.

Two (2) sticks unsalted butter. Cut into small pieces.

Superfine sugar.

Dates.

Chopped dates.

Large eggs.

Beaten…

And honey.

Making the Banana Bread:

Preheat oven to 325°F.

Butter 6 mini-loaf pans.

Place loaf pans in a heavy duty baking sheet.

There is something cute about mini-banana breads.  Especially if I’m giving it as a gift.  For me it is a “small treasure.”  A way of saying:  I’m thinking of you.  And for that, here is a small token…

Or,

Two (2) regular loaf pans.

Please excuse my pans here.  I have since retired these pans.  Because my son said so.

Or you can use a combination of both pans.

Using a fine strainer, sift flour into a large mixing bowl.

Mix butter with the flour, by rubbing butter and flour with your finger tips.

(As you can see here.  The butter is soft and at room temperature.  But I found that it is easier and better to work with it cold and cut into small pieces…)

Until they are crumbly in texture.  Like this.

Add sugar.

And chopped dates.

Stir to combine.

Add mashed bananas.

Add beaten eggs.

Add honey.

Stir until mixture forms into a thick batter.

Spoon batter, equally, into the buttered loaf pans.

Bake in a preheated oven at 325°F for 50 – 60 minutes or until breads are golden brown.

Remove from the oven and cool breads in the pans.

Serve bread warm, in thick slices, with honey butter.

The RECIPE:

Banana Dates Bread

4 cups self-rising flour

1 cup or 2 sticks butter – cut into small pieces

2/3 cup + 2 TBSPS. Superfine sugar

1 ¼ cups chopped dates

4 very ripe bananas (with brown spots OK) – roughly mashed

4 large eggs, lightly beaten

4 TBSPs. honey

Preheat oven to 325°F.

Butter 6 mini loaf pans or 2 regular loaf pans.

Peel bananas and place them in a large Ziploc bag.  Zip the bag and mash the bananas with both your hands.  Set aside.

Using a fine strainer, sift flour into a large mixing bowl.

Dump the pieces of butter over the flour and blend with a pastry cutter until mixture resembles coarse sand.  (If you don’t have a pastry cutter, rub flour and butter with your finger tips.)

Add the sugar and chopped dates into the flour mixture.  Stir to combine.

Pour the mashed bananas, beaten eggs, and honey over the flour and dates mixture.

Stir to combine and mixture forms into a thick batter.

Spoon the mixture into the buttered loaf pans.  Filling each pan into three-fourths full.

Bake in a preheated oven at 325°F for 50 – 60 minutes.  Or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Remove breads from the oven and let them cool in the pans.

Slice breads into thick slices.  Serve warm or cold, with honey butter.

Tess’ Kitchen Secrets:

#1 –  To make Honey Butter.  Simply softened ½ stick of butter and mix it with 2 tablespoons honey.

#2 – This bread is excellent served with coffee and hot tea for breakfast or snacks.

#3– If you don’t like dates, you can use dried cranberries or apricots.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

17 thoughts on “Banana Dates Bread

  1. Pingback: Banana Dates Bread (via AmerAsian Home Cooking) | Foodee Blogger

  2. Tess, not sure where I went wrong. From the outside, they looked normal. Once I took them out of the mini pans, I could feel how heavy & dense they were. I used my cake tester, and it indicated they were cooked inside, not doughy at all. The only thing I did different was I used a mixer to blend the flour & butter, verses a pastry blender. I’ll have better luck next time, I’m sure 🙂

  3. Tess, thanks for sharing this. I simply love simple recipes because I’m inspired to try them myself. I’m reposting this in mine for easier access.

    Thanks & Hugs!!!

        • Thanks Ell!

          Maybe this would help…

          You have to be logged in on your WordPress blog for the link (as in your name as “clickable” if that’s even a word, LOL) to be active when you write comments on other people’s blog.

          At least this what I know when I write comments on other people’s blog… 🙂

          • chuckles…

            well Tess, the good news is i figured it out. under some settings, i didn’t fill my URL up in the box provided for comments to be linked to my blog but i’ve done so now. u shud be able to click (and yes, clickable is a word) on my name and go to my blog from now on.

            the bad news is i feel like a blondie (well, not the cleva blondies – LOL)

  4. Oh my, don’t know what happened, but these small little hockey bricks are nothing like the ones from my moms recipe. Baked according to time & temp, but never fully cooked inside. 325 degrees seems alittle too low. Maybe I was just having a bad day 😦

    • Hi Tess!

      Sorry to hear about your “small little hockey bricks.”

      I have tested/baked this bread at least four times and I’ve gotten the same results… What happened…? Did you bake it for at least 60 minutes? I have a small, portable temperature gauge inside my oven so I can be sure the oven temp is what it should be.

      How did it looked from the outside…? I usually insert a toothpick in the thickest, middle part of the bread, especially if I think the bread is browning too fast, and to be sure the bread is fully baked…

      Because the dates were omitted from the recipe, might be a factor in having extra moisture in the bread. Nevertheless, the bread might have needed an additional 5 – 10 minutes of baking time…

  5. I love useing mini pans for baking bread, though recently I have been using bigger pans.

    I love your combination of bananas and dates! Do you think I could blend up the dates with the bananas? Do you think the consistancy would change?

    xoxox
    Kathleen

    • Hi Kathleen!

      Thanks for your question…

      To tell you the truth, I have not tried baking this bread with the “bananas and dates” pureed in the blender.

      As for consistency. Definitely. I think the bread is going to be on the softer side.

      Five minutes before the baking time is up, please be sure to insert toothpick on the thickets part of the bread to be sure it is fully baked. Otherwise, you may have to bake the bread for an additional 10 minutes.

      I hope this helps.

      Tess

  6. When I first saw this post I thought WOW that’s alot of bread ~ are you trying to make us fat….LOL. Didn’t realize they were mini loafs till I started reading 🙂 I luv warm banana bread topped with butter……yummers. I would leave out the dates though cause I’m not one for fruits in my bread ~ plain & simple but I’m definitely gunna try that honey butter.

    Thnx for the recipe Tess. Have an awesome weekend…..huggggeroos 🙂

    • Hi Mario!

      I know. I remember you not liking dates…

      Also, if you want a sweeter “honey butter…” just add more honey on the softened butter… 🙂

      Have a great week…

      Hugs!

  7. How funny to see your posting Tess. I have bananas defrosting as I speak. When I get too many ripe ones, I freeze them, whole, right in their skins to use for my banana bread at a future time. Since today was another snow day with that storm passing through, I like baking on these days. And it was Banana Bread that I was going to be making. I too like using the mini pans. Just the right size for a couple slices of bread, and perfect for gift-giving. I planned on bringing one over to my dad tomorrow. No dates around my house, and not going out in all that mess, as my street hasn’t even been plowed. I’ll be substituting chopped walnuts instead. 🙂

    Thanks for the perfect timing on this recipe. It’s nice to try different ones from time to time. I’ll come back and let you know what I think. Hope the weather is better your way than here. Don’t think Spring will ever come. This makes two snowstorms in just a matter of days for us. Think we might be in school all summer making up our missed days. lol Hugs!

Leave a Reply

