Sauteed Rice Noodles (Pancit Bihon)

Pancit Bihon or sauteed rice noodles is one of Filipinos most popular dishes, in addition to lumpia.  Noodle dishes such as this has been introduced to us by Chinese immigrants.  One of the most common and popular dishes served  in parties and family celebrations.

Pancit, just like any other Filipino dishes, is not spicy.  But in our home, I usually make them hot and spicy to please my husband.  He won’t it eat any other way.  He thinks Filipino foods are bland and therefore not very fond of them.   I really can’t argue with him on that.  He is right.  Most Westerners considered Filipino dishes bland, as compared to the dishes in the neighboring countries.  Which is one of the reasons I seldom cook Filipino foods.  Thus reflecting a limited number of Filipino recipes posted in this blog.  He prefers  Thai and Chinese foods.  Thai foods because of all the hot chilies and peppers in it.  And Chinese foods because I can make them spicy and still taste outrageously good.

I don’t cook pancit often.  But I crave them once in a while.  And this week is one of those weeks where I have to have some pancit.

Here’s what you need to cook pancit:

Rice noodles.  Two packages, 8 ounces each.

Noodles need to be washed under cold running water. Water drained and noodles set aside.  This process will soften the noodles.

16 ounces of pork, sliced.  I kept some of the fat for more flavors.  Seasoned with 1/2 tsp. kosher salt and 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper.

16 ounces shrimp.  Peeled and deveined.  Seasoned with 1/2 tsp. kosher salt and 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper.

vegetables…

sliced and chopped…

and garlic… smashed, peeled and chopped.

Heat a large skillet or wok over medium high heat.

Add two tablespoons cooking oil.  Sorry.  I cheated here.  I used pork fat I had rendered few days ago, for more flavor.

Add red onions and green onions.  Stir fry one minute.  Add celery and cabbage.  Stir fry until cabbage turns bright green, about 2 minutes. Remove to a large platter.

Green beans stir fried in one tablespoon oil. Stir fried until green beans are wilted. And remove to the same platter with other stir fried vegetables.

Stir fried the shrimp until pink.  Remove to the same platter with the stir fried vegetables. (Sorry, I forgot to take a pic with this process…)

Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil and stir fry the garlic and hot peppers.  That is if you are using hot peppers. Be careful.  Hot peppers are going to be strong on the sinuses.

Add the pork to the wok.

stir fried pork in garlicStir fry pork until golden on the edges.  And then add the sliced tomatoes. Stir for about 2 minutes.  Tomatoes should be slightly cooked with the pork and to the point of disintegrating.

Add 3 1/2 cups chicken stock or water to the wok.

Add fish sauce and soy sauce to the wok.  Bring pork and chicken stock mixture to a boil.

Add stir fried vegetables to the wok.  Stir and keep boiling.

Add the stir fried shrimp.

Add the washed, softened noodles. Stir until combined well.  Reduce heat to medium low.  Keep stirring the until the noodles absorb most of the liquid. And the noodles are tender but not too soft. Turn off heat.

Done and ready to serve!

Sautéed Rice Noodles (Pancit Bihon)

Serves 6 – 8 people

2 – 8 ounces package Rice Noodles or Pancit Bihon

16 ounces boneless pork – sliced

16 ounces shrimp – peeled and deveined

1/3 medium green cabbage

8 ounces fresh green beans

2 celery ribs – chopped

1 medium onion – sliced

4 stalks green onions – chopped

6 cloves garlic – smashed, peeled and chopped

6 – 8 fresh hot chilies (optional)

2 roma tomatoes – sliced

6 TBSPs. cooking oil divided

4 TBSPs. soy sauce

4 TBSPs. fish sauce

3 ½ cups chicken stock or water

1 tsp. kosher salt – divided

1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper divided

½ tsp. ground hot pepper (optional)

Wash rice noodles under cold running water.  Drain water and set aside noodles.

Season sliced pork with ½ tsp. kosher salt and ¼ tsp. black pepper.  Set aside.

Season shrimp with ½ tsp. kosher salt and ¼ tsp. black pepper.  Set aside.

Heat a large wok and add 2 tablespoons oil over medium heat.  Saute onion and green onions for one minute.  Add celery and cabbage.  Stir fry for another two minutes.  Remove to a large platter.

Add another tablespoon cooking oil.  Stir fried green beans until welted, about 5 minutes.  Remove to the same platter with the rest of the stir fried vegetables.

Add the another tablespoon of cooking oil and stir fried the shrimp until

pink.  Remove to another platter and set aside.

Finally, add the remaining two tablespoons cooking oil.  Add garlic and whole hot peppers, if using.  Stir fry until garlic is golden.  Add pork and stir fry about 4 minutes.  Add sliced tomatoes to the pork.  Stir a few minutes.

Turn the heat to medium high.  Add the soy sauce and fish sauce to the pork.  Quickly stir to coat the pork.  Add chicken stock and bring pork to boil.  Once boiling, reduce heat to medium low.  Cover wok and simmer pork for 3 minutes.

Add the platter of stir fried vegetables and shrimp to the simmering pork and stock.  Add the remaining ½ tsp. ground black pepper and ground hot pepper if using.

Turn the heat back to medium and bring the whole mixture to boiling.  Add the rinsed rice noodles.  Stir noodles, pork and the vegetable mixture, until well combined.  Keep stirring until most of the liquid is absorbed and noodles are tender but not overcooked.

Serve hot.  This dish is served by itself or with other Asian dishes.  Serves as a snack, a full meal.

Serve noodles with a small slice of lemon, squeezing the juice over the noodles.

NOTE: This recipe serves a party of 6 – 8 people.  Please cut the recipe in half if only serving a few people.  Left overs can be refrigerated and warmed in the microwave.

Also.  As for the vegetables, you may not include what you do not like and replace them with what you like.

Tess’ Kitchen Secrets:

#1 – By stir frying the vegetables, individually, as shown, keeps them from getting overcooked.   Thus, keeping them crunchy.

#2 – By also stir frying the shrimps also keeps them from getting overcooked and rubbery.

#3 – Chicken stock enhances the flavor of the noodles.

#4 – An equal amount of fish sauce and lemon juice drizzle over the noodles upon serving, is suggested if additional seasoning is needed for the noodles.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

10 thoughts on “Sauteed Rice Noodles (Pancit Bihon)

  1. Sounds yummy Tess. Reminds me of one of my favorites ~ Lo Mein. Can use about any meat you like ~ beef, pork, chicken, shrimp, or even a mix, like your recipe. Along with your favorite veggies. I’ve never used Rice Noodles, but I’m guessing they taste much like thin spaghetti? And your right about leftovers. They taste great the next day. Maybe when Megan comes home during the holidays, I’ll give this a try. We’re the only two that eat this kind of food. Thanks for another great recipe 🙂

    • Thanks, Tess!

      Yeah. You can pretty much use any type of meat you like for this dish. And of course a mixture of the vegetable you like.

      I think the only difference between Pancit and Lo Mein is the noodles. Lo Mein noodles are yellow and soft, where as the Pancit noodles or Rice noodles are more firm.

      People have used Angel hair pasta in place of rice noodles. Though I haven’t tried cooking it this way. But I want to experiment and find out the difference in taste. And see which way is better. So I bought a package of Angel Hair pasta, and I’m going to cook another batch of pancit this week. I will post the result here, on this blog.

      See then…

      Hugs!

  2. Tess that looks like an awesome dish. You know I’ll be keeping mine mild & I’m not sure if I would like it with the shrimp. I’m gunna make the shrimp but just add it to my plate later & if I like it then I’ll know for next time.

    We got everyone coming over on Sunday for lunch after the run & this sounds a gr8 meal to make. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    Thnx for another gr8 recipe……hugggeroos 🙂

    • Thanks, Mario!

      That’s a great idea. Stir fried the shrimp, and just keep them on the side until noodles are ready to serve. And then offer it to anyone who would like to add them to the noodles.

      I hope your Pancit turns out good.

      Good luck…

      Hugs!

      • I know it will turn out good just as long as I follow your recipe to the T. All your recipes had been gr8 that I have tried so I know this will be to. It looks so good that I’m tempted to make it for dinner tomorrow 🙂

        I’ll keep ya posted.

      • Tess awesome recipe ~ it was a big hit today.

        I personally don’t like it with the shrimp but that is just me 😦 I realized that I prefer my shrimp cold with cocktail sauce ~ don’t like it heated. But others luved it with the shrimp mixed in. They all cleaned their plates.

        Giving this recipe 2 thumbs up 🙂

        • Thanks Mario!

          Thank you for being generous and letting me know how it turned out. I am glad it turned out well and everyone liked it.

          Hey, I respect your eating preference with shrimp. I have my issues with certain foods too. So… yeah. I understand where you’re coming from.

          In place of shrimp, you can use other meats you like. You can even add Italian sausage… or more pork, or ham… whatever you like.

          Also, I want to tell you how impressed and proud I am of you. You are unafraid to try my recipes… You are eager to roll up your sleeves and get in the kitchen and start clanking your pots and pans.

          Way to go my friend.

          Hugs!

Leave a Reply

