Shrimp Scampi Pasta – A 15 Minute Meal

Another dish that is 15 minutes or less.

I had a bag of shrimps that’s been setting in my freezer for couple of weeks that I needed to get rid of.  And I wanted to use it for something easy and quick.  Not only easy but also flavorful.  So I decided on shrimp scampi.  Shrimps cooked in skillet with olive oil.  Or a combination of butter and olive oil.  For which only took less than 15 minutes to make.  Including the pasta.

For some, Shrimp Scampi is great during the summer time.  But who says you can’t eat it during winter…?  Food is food, right?  Especially if I’m hungry.

Anyway.

Here’s what you need to make this easy, simple and quick meal.

Shrimps. Generously seasoned with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Garlic. Peeled and minced.

Olive oil. I prefer to use extra light olive oil for sauteing and roasting.

White wine.  That is if you have any.

This was an after thought.  Because the ones I’m showing you here, I did not use wine.  And it tasted just as good.

Spinach.  Washed and ready to cook.

Again.  This is optional…

Pasta.  You only need one box…

And Parmesan Cheese.  Again Optional.  I didn’t use it for myself.  Not that I don’t want to.  Because I would have LOVED to… but I have to avoid dairy whenever possible.  Unless I want to physically punish myself… then I ate dairy.

Anyway.

Here’s how I put these ingredients into a delicious meal…

Get a large pot and fill it with water.  About 3/4 full.  And then add 3 teaspoons kosher salt.

Bring water to a boil and add 2 teaspoons olive oil.

Add pasta to boiling water and cook al dente.  About 7 minutes.

Strain water from pasta just seconds before adding it the shrimps.

*** While the pasta was boiling, I was also cooking the shrimps. ***

 

Heat a large skillet and add olive oil.

Saute garlic until light golden brown.

Add seasoned shrimps.

Cook shrimps until pink.  About 5 minutes.

*** If using white wine.  This is the time to remove the shrimp to a platter.  Then you pour 1/2 cup of white wine and allow it to boil.  You then add the shrimps back into the skillet.  Stir.***

Add the spinach, if using.

Stir until wilted.  about 1 – 2 minutes.

Add the cooked pasta.

Stir until pasta and shrimps are well combined.

Serve Shrimp  Scampi Pasta with freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

~~~

Shrimp Scampi Pasta

(Serves 4 people)

1½ pound of peeled shrimps

1 tsp. coarse sea salt

½ tsp. freshly ground black pepper

4 cloves garlic, minced

3 – 4 TBSPs. light olive oil (or a combination of butter and olive oil)

½ cup white wine (optional)

4 cups (packed) spinach (optional)

16 ounces pasta – cooked separately

Freshly grated Parmesan Cheese (optional)

Season the shrimps with salt and black pepper.  Set aside.

Fill a large pot with water.  Add 3 tsps. Kosher salt and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, and 2 tsps. Olive oil.

Boil pasta for about 7 minutes – one minute before al dente.  Strain water from the pasta just right before adding it to the shrimp.

Heat a large skillet and add olive oil.  Add the garlic and sauté until light golden brown.  Add the seasoned shrimps and sauté until pink.  About 5 minutes.  Remove to a platter.

Pour white wine into the skillet and bring to a boil.  Add back the shrimps.  Stir.  And then add the spinach if using.  Stir until spinach is wilted.

Add the pasta and mix.  Taste for additional salt and or black pepper.

Top each serving with freshly grated Parmesan cheese.  And a slice of lemon on the side.

Tess’ Kitchen Secrets

#1 – Buy raw and peeled shrimps to save time.

#2 – Cook pasta simultaneously with the shrimps.  So that when the pasta is cooked, I was ready to mix it with the shrimp.

#3 – Strain the water from the pasta just seconds before mixing it with the shrimp.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

5 thoughts on “Shrimp Scampi Pasta – A 15 Minute Meal

  1. Hear hear Tess….food is food & who cares what season we are in ~ just eat it whenever you want 🙂

    That dish looks awesome but as we talked about before I’m not much for having shrimp in my meals. Don’t get me wrong I like shrimp but more so cold & with cocktail sauce…warm shrimp not so much. Usually when something calls for shrimp I do pork instead & it comes out pretty good but my girl will luv this recipe just as it is so you know I will be giving it a try.

    HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY. Hope the hubby cooks for you tomorrow 🙂

    Hugggggggeroos

    • Hi Mario!

      Thanks.

      I know about you and shrimp. 🙂 Each time I post a shrimp recipe. I tell myself… Well, Mario will have to pass on this one…

      I grow up near by the seashore. That’s why I love shrimp and crabs and red snapper… 🙂

      I have yet to try this dish using pork. But I think that’s a wonderful idea. And I was mulling this same idea few days ago. I was even thinking of maybe using prosciutto ham…

      Well. I hope your girl enjoys this dish.

      HAPPY VALENTINES DAY to you too!

      Hugs!

  2. Looks delicious Tess. Love these 15 minute meals. I’m the only one in the family that will eat shrimp. So won’t work for family dinners. But think that substitute chicken breast for the shrimp, and making chicken scampi using the above directions will be a hit 🙂 Another thing I like about this recipe is it health conscious. Very little fat, and no thick white sauce. Keep them coming Tess, cause I need new ideas to cook up. Thanks for another great posting. 🙂

    • Thanks Tess!

      Funny because I actually made this dish with chicken too. I followed everything except, instead of using shrimps, I used chicken breast. And it came out good.

      Though there’s one caveat if using the chicken. You’d have to slice the chicken thinly. Probably 1/4 inch thick so it will cook faster. And also, for it to soak in more flavors. I learned my lesson with mine. I had the chicken sliced into one inch cubes. And they were a bit too thick. So learn from me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

