Apple Crumble with Browned Butter

This recipe was inspired by my friend Theresa.  She made this for Thanksgiving and posted an inviting photo on her Multiply page.  She was kind enough to share her recipe.  And gave me permission to share it with you here.  Thank you Tess!

I altered her recipe just a little bit.  Instead of using margarine.  I used browned butter.  I LOVE the smell and taste of browned butter.  And I thought it would be perfect for this recipe.

Also, while I was at the grocery store.  I spotted Ultra fine or superfine sugar that Baker’s used.  So of course I got one and use it for this Apple Crumble recipe.  Instead of granulated sugar.

Here’s Theresa’s Original recipe if you would like to print it as well.

For this Apple Crumble, you will need the following:

When making crumbles or pies, I always like to mix different varieties.  Here I have Granny Smith, Gala and Braeburn.

Peel, core and slice apples.

Freshly squeezed lemon juice.

You really do not need two lemons.  One large lemon usually yield 2 – 3 tablespoons of lemon juice.  And you only need 1 – 1/2 TBSPs.

Superfine sugar.

Ground cinnamon and cloves.

Flour (superfine sugar, and kosher salt).

Browned butter.

~~~

How to assemble all the ingredients…

Pour lemon juice over the sliced apples.  Toss to combine.

In a separate bowl, combine sugar, cinnamon and cloves.

Pour sugar, cinnamon and clove mixture over the apples.

Mix them up.

Brush a 13 x 9 x 2″ baking pan with browned butter or melted butter.

Empty the bowl of apples into the buttered pan.

In another bowl, combine flour, sugar and kosher salt.  Mix them up.

Pour browned butter over the flour mixture.

And mix them up or crumble them with your hands.  Until mixture resembles a sand texture.

Pour crumbly mixture over the apples.  Making sure to evenly spread the it over the apples.

And that’s how it should look…

Bake in a preheated oven at 375°F degrees for 45 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350°F and bake an additional 10 minutes.

Since this is a crumble.  I like my apples tender.  Not crispy.

And that’s how it should look.

And it should taste as good as it looks.

Here’s the recipe.

Apple Crumble with Browned Butter

10 – 12 Apples medium size apples (granny smith, gala and braeburn)

1/4 superfine or Baker’s sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground cloves

1 ½ TBSPs. lemon juice

TOPPING:
¾ cup superfine or Baker’s sugar
1 ¼ cup all purpose flour
¾ teaspoon kosher or maldon salt
1/3 cup browned butter

Preheat oven at 375°F.

Butter a 13″ X 9″ pan.

Peel and core and slice apples.

In a mixing bowl, pour lemon juice over sliced apples.

In another bowl, combine sugar, cinnamon, and cloves.  Pour over sliced apples and mix .  Then pour apples into buttered baking pan.

In yet another bowl, combine together sugar, flour, salt.  Pour browned butter.  Mix until crumbly and sand in texture.

Top apples with the crumbled mixture.

Bake at 375°F degrees for 45 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350°F and bake an additional 10 minutes.  Or until apples are tender and topping is light golden brown.

Best served warm and fresh from the oven.  May be served with whipped topping or vanilla ice cream on top.

How to Make Browned Butter:

Place butter in small pot with heavy bottom.  Melt butter over medium heat.  Butter will boil and sputter before it turns golden brown.  This whole process takes about 20 minutes.  Please watch carefully.  As soon as the butter turns starts to smell nice, aromatic and nutty and turns golden brown.  Remove pot from the heat and cool before using.  Refrigerate for future use.

Note: 1 cup of butter will yield about ¾ cup of browned butter.

Tess’ Kitchen Secrets:

#1 – Browned butter elevates the taste of this apple crumble to another level.

#2 – Mixed apple varieties give this apple crumble a mixed texture, sweetness and tartness.

#3 – You can also make this dairy free.  Since I’ve tested this recipe.  I have also have made a dairy free version, using coconut oil, instead of browned butter.  Slightly different taste.  But it was still good.  Perfect for people who are allergic to dairy products.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess

4 thoughts on “Apple Crumble with Browned Butter

  1. I have never been a big fan of apple desserts but if it’s served hot & with ice cream I wouldn’t refuse it….LOL. I’m way to lazy to cut up all those bloody apples but when someone comes up with sliced apples in a bag then I may give it a try 🙂

    Hope you had an awesome B-Day Tess……hugggerooos.

    • Thanks Mario!

      I don’t blame you. For some reason… am really not a fan of fresh apples. But I will eat them as pies anytime. Weird I know. And with vanilla ice cream…? Who can refuse it?

      Yes, I did. Thank you.

  2. Hey Tess, your posting looks so familiar….lol. This recipe has been in my family over 20 years at least. Alot like Apple Pie, but without the crust. Back when Megan was in grade school, she was to bring in her favorite recipe. The class put together a recipe book, and she gave it to me for Christmas way back years ago. I’ve treasured that book, and still makes some of those recipes to this date. I’ve never browned butter before. But the next time I make this, I’ll be sure to try it that way. I can imagine the difference a simple step like this could do for the flavor. I too like using a mixture of different apples. Such a variety out there these days. Great thing about this recipe is most everyone has these simple ingredients around the house. It’s so quick and easy to bake up for a last minute dessert, and still somewhat healthy.

    I’m glad you saw my posting and pictures, and liked it so much that you posted it on your cooking site. I’m honored! And BTW….Happy Birthday to you Tess 🙂

    • Thanks Tess! Wow. Twenty years is a long time. I wish I had this recipe 20 years ago!

      You’re right. This is a lot like apple pie. Only missing flour or starch as thickener for the filling. And the crust of course. I thought about adding some cornstarch or flour to the sugar to thicken the filling. I might try that next time. So the filling’s liquid is not too runny.

      Honestly. This is better than apple pie in my opinion. Because it is a lot simpler, easier, and faster to make. And good!

      Thanks for sharing the recipe with me. It gave me a lot of ideas…

      Oh. And thanks for the birthday wishes…

      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

