Sweet Pineapple Glazed Ham

Today is my husband’s birthday.

And he only wanted two things for his birthday:  Cornbread Stuffing – Southern Style and Banana Pudding – which I realized I haven’t yet posted the recipe here.

And since I had already posted the recipe for the Cornbread Stuffing here.  I decided to post the recipe for the Sweet Pineapple Glazed Ham.  I made this ham for our last Thanksgiving Dinner.  We didn’t have Turkey.  We had ham instead.

Since most people prefer to bake ham for Christmas.  I thought it would be timely to share this recipe with you.

I think this recipe is simple and don’t require much work.  And yet it is very tasty.

Here’s what you need:

Smoked Ham – Shank – Bone In.  Between 10 and 12 pounds.

This is 12 pounds here.

Remove the plastic packaging off the ham.  And place the ham in a large, aluminum roasting pan.

I always use disposable aluminum pan.  So I don’t have to worry about washing a large pan after dinner.

Also.  You need to place the roasting pan in a large, heavy baking sheet to support the bottom.  And ease for lifting the ham in and out of the oven.

And then you need to prepare the stock or sauce base for the ham.

This stock base is going to keep the ham moist the while time it’s baking.

And for this.  You will need to combine the following in a medium sauce pot:

One cup chicken stock.

1/2 cup white wine.

3 TBSPs. honey

1/4 cup brown sugar

Grated ginger, 1 TBSP. mustard, and chopped rosemary.

Grated orange zest.

Salt and Pepper.

All into the pot over medium heat.  Stir until sugar dissolve.

And pour over the ham in the roasting pan.

Bake ham in the preheated oven at 325°F for 4 1/2 hours.

Baste the ham with the liquid in the pan every  hour.

Allow 20 – 25 minutes of baking time per pound of ham.

~~~

And while the ham is baking…

Prepare the Sweet Pineapple Glaze:

And the are the ingredients you will need…

Cross out the coconut oil.  You don’t have to do that.

I just didn’t want to have dairy products on the glaze.  So instead of using butter I added one TBSP. of coconut oil.

Like I said.  You can use butter.

You need to combine all these ingredients, except the cornstarch mixture, in a medium size pot.

Bring it to boil over medium heat.

And then… you can drizzle the cornstarch mixture to thicken the glaze up.

And your glaze should resemble this.  Really.  I learned that it should be thicker than this.  Thick enough that it should adhere to the ham.  And not run off.

That’s why I have adjusted my recipe.  The recipe I’m posting here.

~~~

And so back to the ham…

After four (4) hours of baking and basting.

Remove the ham from the oven, and generously smear it over with the Sweet Pineapple Glaze.

Return ham back into the oven and bake for another 30 minutes.   By this time 4 1/2 hours of total baking time should have elapsed.

Remove ham from the oven.   Let the ham rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

Have the extra Pineapple Glaze available for your guest to dollop over their slices of ham.

Here’s the recipe:

Sweet Pineapple Glazed Ham

10 – 12 pound smoked ham (Shank Bone-in)

1 cup chicken stock

½ cup white wine

3 TBSPs. honey

¼ cup brown sugar

1 TBSP. French yellow or Dijon mustard

1 inch piece ginger, peeled and grated

2 TBSPs. fresh rosemary, chopped

Zest of 1 large orange

1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

1 tsp. kosher salt

In a small sauce pan, combine all ingredients, EXCEPT ham.  Stir over medium heat until sugar and salt dissolve.  Cool.

Preheat oven to 325°F.

Place ham in a large roasting pan.  (I used disposable aluminum roasting pan to avoid the hassle of cleaning afterward.)

Score ham by cutting a diamond pattern all around it. (Do not cut too deep, especially in leaner areas.)

Pour the sauce over the ham and liberally brush ham with the sauce.

Bake ham in a preheated oven at 325°F for 4 ½ to 5 hours, basting with the pan juices every hour.  (Allow 20 – 25 minutes per pound to cook the ham.)

After 4 hours of baking, generously smear the Pineapple Glaze all over the ham.

Return the ham back into the oven and bake for 30 minutes to finish the cooking time.  And to allow for the glaze to penetrate into the ham.

Remove baked ham from the oven and rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

Serve sliced ham with extra Pineapple Glaze on top.  Or have the glaze available be served on the side.

Sweet Pineapple Glaze:

2 Large cans (20 ounces each) crushed pineapple
2 cups light brown sugar
3 TBSPs. honey
2 TBSPs. French’s Classic Yellow or Dijon Mustard
2 TBSPs. 100% Maple syrup
1 tsp ground cloves
½ tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp. ground nutmeg
Pinch of kosher salt
1 TBSP. butter
2½ TBSPs. cornstarch mixed with 3 TBSPs. pineapple juice (from the crushed pineapple.

In a medium size sauce pan, empty the cans of crushed pineapple into it.

Add all the other ingredients, EXCEPT the cornstarch mixture.

Stir and bring the sauce to a boil over medium heat.  Simmer for about five (5) minutes.  Stirring occasionally.

While the sauce is boiling, slowly drizzle the cornstarch mixture, stirring constantly.

Simmer the sauce, over low heat, until slightly thick.  About 10 minutes.  Turn of the heat.

Glaze the ham as directed above.

NOTE:  The sauce should be thick enough so that you can smear it all over the ham and not run-down.  Pressing the glaze on the ham with the back of the spoon or spatula.

Tess’ Kitchen Secrets:

#1 – Smoked and Bone Ham.  I always like to use ham that are smoked and bone-in as compared to any other type of ham.  I prefer bone-in because the meat is not dry.

#2 – The seasoned chicken stock and wine provides moisture to the ham while baking.  So that it’s never dry.

#3 – Sweet Pineapple Glaze.   The Pineapple Glaze here is sweet highly compliments the ham.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

6 thoughts on “Sweet Pineapple Glazed Ham

  1. Ham is a must here on Christmas & Easter. I love the leftovers because I use it in other dishes. Like right now, I’m using my leftover ham and making Scalloped Potatoes. One of my families favorites. The one I baked for Christmas looked alot like yours, but it was a spiral ham. I made a sauce to put on it while it was baking. Only difference was no final glaze at the end. That would have put the finishing touch to the ham, in my opinion. Will have to use your recipe next time Tess. Some of my kids will throw away the dark crispy pieces on the top and outside of the ham, but you know what? They are my favorite!!! It’s like the best part of the ham, love those tasty pieces. Call me crazy, but nothing goes to waste at my house. LOL I knew Willie’s birthday was around the same time as Christmas. Hope he enjoyed the feast you cooked him, along with best wishes going out to him 🙂

    • Hi, Tess!

      Thanks.

      Scalloped Potatoes with ham. Hmmm. That sounds good.

      Hahaha. I know what you mean. I like those pieces too.

      I don’t call it crazy. I call it smart. I don’t like wasting food either. Food is expensive. And I feel really bad whenever I had to throw food away…

      Happy New Year Tess! Hugs!

  2. Happy belated birthday to your husband. Ham is my favorite of all time. During the holidays ppl always want turkey but if it was up to me we would have ham. Either way I don’t lose out cause if they want me present for the holidays there better be a ham sitting next to that turkey or I’m outta there. The ham we had yesterday was AWESOME & cause everyone ate turkey there was a shit load of ham leftover cause it was a massive so you know who brought it home……me. I’ll be eating ham for a week……SWEET 🙂

    Your recipe sounds amazing & not that hard to make even for me. Technology has come so far but I can’t wait till there is smell & taste vision cause that would be gr8 for your site….LMAO. Thnx for another awesome recipe.

    Hope you had a good Christmas Tess……..huggggerooos 🙂

  3. HI Tess,
    How are you? Hope you are keeping well. I love your Ham recipe. I am making a ham for Christmas. The ham I bought is spiral sliced, but I can use your recipe instead of that yucky bag that comes with the ham. I usually use pinaapple and maple syrup, but I like the idea of using the chicken stock and white wine with the rosemary to keep the ham moist.
    I havn’t written in a while, but I have been checking out your blog and stories. Keep up the great work!!!
    I hope you and your family have a wonderful and healthy Holiday!!
    Take Care,
    Mary

    • Hello, Mary!

      Thank you.

      We are all well. And enjoyed our holidays.

      I know what you mean. I never use the seasoning packets that usually comes with the ham…

      Happy New Year to you and your family.

      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

