Cornbread Stuffing – Truly A Labor Of Love (Part 2)

Since my first post on this subject was too lengthy, I had to end it with “cooking the chicken and making the chicken stock” for the Cornbread Stuffing.  And suspend the recipe for the cornbread and stuffing for another post…

We’ll see how long this post is going to be.

Hopefully not too long.  Otherwise, I may have to resort to part three.  The Cornbread Stuffing itself.

In in my last blog I talked about the first time I tasted this cornbread stuffing.  The kitchen utensils needed.  And several steps or processes.

Like I said, this stuffing takes a bit of work.  And honestly, I doubt anyone would actually take a chance and the time to try this recipe out.  Without tasting it first.

But here I am.  Posting it anyway.

If nothing else.  The cornbread itself is very easy to make.  And I usually make this cornbread whenever I make Bean Gumbo.

This cornbread is great to serve with bean soup, chili, barbecued dishes and more.

Anyhow…

Here’s Process #2:  Bake the cornbread.

Preheat oven at 400°F.

Lightly butter a 9”x 13” glass baking pan.

And then prepare the ingredients…

~~~ Dry Ingredients ~~~

Two cups yellow cornmeal.

Two cups self-rising flour.

1/2 cup granulated sugar.

Four teaspoons baking powder and one teaspoon kosher salt.

Combine all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Whisk them a few times.

~~~ Wet Ingredients ~~~

Four Large eggs.

Beaten well.

Two and one-half (2 1/2) cups milk.

I used one can of coconut milk plus water to make 2 1/2 cups.

1/2 cup oil.

I used safflower oil.

Add milk to the beaten eggs.

Add the oil to the eggs and milk mixture.

Whisk a few times to mix.

Pour the wet ingredients – eggs, milk and oil mixture

over the dry ingredients – yellow cornmeal, self – rising flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Fold the mixture with a whisk until free of big lumps.

Pour cornbread batter onto the lightly greased  9″ x 13″ glass pan.

Bake cornbread in the preheated oven at 400°F for 26 – 28 minutes

or until top crust becomes light golden brown.

Remove the cornbread from the oven and cool.

Crumble the cornbread.

Here’s the recipe:

Cornbread – Dry Ingredients:

2 cups yellow cornmeal

2 cups self – rising flour

½ cup refined sugar

4 tsps. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

Cornbread – Wet Ingredients

4 large eggs – well beaten

2 ½ cups milk (I used coconut milk)

½ cup cooking oil (I used safflower oil)

Lightly butter a 9”x 13” glass baking pan.

Preheat oven at 400°F.

Combine all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Whisk several times.

In another large mixing bowl, beat eggs.  Add milk and cooking oil.  Whisk until combined.

Pour the egg, milk, and oil mixture over the combined dry ingredients.

Fold the mixture, using a whisk, until moistened and free of large lumps.  Do not over beat.  (There will be some small lumps and that’s OK. )

Pour cornbread mixture into the battered glass pan, and bake in a preheated oven at 400°F for 26 – 28 minutes or until crust becomes light golden brown.

Remove from the oven and cool.

Once cooled.  Crumble the cornbread.

~~~

Proceed with the next step or process…

Process #3:  Making the stuffing.

Please read my next blog post for the next step…

Thanks!

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

3 thoughts on “Cornbread Stuffing – Truly A Labor Of Love (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Cornbread Stuffing – Southern Style – Truly A Labor Of Love (Part 3) « AmerAsian Home Cooking

  2. Hi, Tess!

    Thanks for your question.

    OK… My honest answer here.

    I have never freeze this cornbread stuffing. Though the stuffing itself still tastes great two or three days after being refrigerated.

    As a matter of fact it taste better the next day after it was made.

    I have eaten it cold and liked it. But my husband prefers it hot or at least warm. So I warm it up in the oven – in it’s baking pan, at 250F for about 45 minutes – 1 hour, covered with aluminum foil.

    However, the item(s) that you can make and freeze two or three weeks ahead is the “cooked chicken, gizzards and livers, and chicken stock.” I would do Process #1 in its entirety, including shredding the chicken meat, thinly slicing the gizzards and livers. Which, in my opinion, is the most time consuming. And of course, straining the chicken stock or broth. Cooling it and skimming the fat. And then freezing it.

    Making the cornbread is easy. And I think can be done the day you are making the stuffing. Or make it the day before.

    As for the stuffing itself…

    You can prepare a day ahead the vegetables needed. i.e. thinly slicing the mushrooms, onions and finely chopping the celery. Store in Ziploc bags, each vegetable, separately, and refrigerate.

    I hope this helps…

    I will be posting the final process – Making the Stuffing, on Thursday, 12/16/2010.

    Take care,

    Tess

  3. Ok Tess, here’s the problem I’m seeing. This Cornbread Stuffing would most likely be made for the holidays or something pretty important, when I’m already bogged down with so much other stuff to be doing. Multi-tasking isn’t going to work here. Could this cornbread be made, and frozen in the freezer til it’s needed? Usually stuffing bread is harder bread, so if the bread is alittle hard from the freezer, who cares? That step alone would make a huge difference, and that way wouldn’t be so lengthy, and possibly something that could be made more often. It sounds very tasty, but like you said, would one go through all these steps in making the unknown for the very first time. I’ll save my other question I have for the final posting on the Cornbread Stuffing 🙂

Leave a Reply

