Grow Your Wings So You Can Fly

I can’t believe next Thursday is Thanksgiving again.  It feels not long ago since last Thanksgiving.  Or at least that’s how it feels to me.

Last year, we spent Thanksgiving in Tulsa.  With Ramon.  And that year and the first half of this year seems like a big blur in the wind.

We were so busy.

Ramon was in school and I was shuttling back and forth between Abilene and Tulsa, where he was going to school.  And then driving back and forth between Abilene, Dallas-Fort Worth and Tulsa.  The speedometer showed that I drove 5,000 miles in one month.  That’s how insane it was.

For him.  It was such a big change in his life.  Learning how to drive.  Going to school.  And living on his own. With his very own apartment.  And then he had his first car accident.  His car got broken into.  Driving in snow.  Driving in sleet.  Driving in the rain.  Driving at night.  With all of these hurdles in his way.  And yet, he graduated with flying colors.  With a 4.0 GPA.  A perfect grade.  And landed his very first job two weeks after graduation.  All these, in less than a year.  Too much for an 18 year old who has never been away from home, other than an overnight field trip to another city.

Ramon proved to us that he is mentally, emotionally, and psychologically strong.  That he can survive out there, in that big bad world, on his own, when the need and circumstance arise.

He also learned that sometimes, what you thought you are passionate about, and you wanted to do, is not what you had envisioned it to be.  So that you have to make a life changing decision:  pursue the path you are currently standing on knowing that it’s not the right path for you.  Or, take a de-tour.  Turn around and start over.

And then he also learned the value of having a close knit family.  That it’s great to have parents ready on standby.  To have them as your backup.  Ready with open arms.  That whaever happens, they are going to be there to catch you when you fall.  To provide refuge.  A place where you can nurse your wound.  Re-energize your body and soul.  And work on growing your wings.  So that one day you can be ready to fly again.

~~~

Our Thanksgiving menu last year consisted of Baked ham glazed with Apricot-Sherry Sauce, Southern Corn Bread Stuffing, Candied Sweet Potatoes topped with Marsmallows, Triple Berry Pie and Strawberry Tart.

This year we planned on having the same menu minus the Strawberry Tart.  And I think I am going to bake a Pumpkin Cheesecake.  And possibly Pumpkin Cookies.

But for now, let me share with you the Triple Berry Pie recipe.  Something you might consider adding to your dessert list for the holidays.  Frozen berries are available all year round.  The kind I used I bought at Sam’s Club.

I don’t have step by step photos for this recipe yet.  But I’ll be sure to take them in a few days when I make it.

I will share them with you then.

~~~

Last year I made the crust for the Triple Berry Pie.  And you can too.  It’s not that difficult, especially if you have the counter space to make it.   My counter space is very small.  But somehow I manage.

But this year I think I’m going to try a refrigerated pie crust.  Something I have never used before.

I was at Wal-Mart yesterday and passed a cold case full of pie crust and decided to buy two packages.  This will save me time.  But I know these is crusts is not going to be as good as the ones I make myself.  But we’ll see.

*Update: January 20, 2011:  I wanted to write a note her regarding this store bought pie crust.  Used this pie crust for the triple berry pie last Thanksgiving.  And the result?  It was a DISASTER!  This pie crust is not suited for this pie.  The pie crust did not brown.  Instead it became soggy.   And then last week.  I tried using the other box that was left in the fridge.  I used it for Cherry Pie.  Using a canned cherry pie filling.  The pie was edible.  But still.  I was highly disappointed on the crust.  It was thin.  And tasted bland.  Still did not come out as good as my home made pie crust.   So that’s that.  I will never, ever use this pie crust again.  Ever!  I will stick to my home made pie crust recipe below.

Triple Berry Pie

Crust:

3 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp. salt

1 cup vegetable shortening or coconut oil.  (I used coconut oil.)

1 large egg

1 tsp. white distilled vinegar

2 TBSPs. Cold water

Combine flour and coconut oil. Blend with a pasty cutter until mixture resemble a coarse sand.

Beat the egg, vinegar, and cold water  together. Drizzle over the flour mixture.  Stir with a fork until the dough is a little sticky, but not gooey.

Divide the dough in half and form into large balls.  Place each ball, separately in a large ziploc bag.  Flatten each ball into a round disk and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Remove pastry dough from the refrigerator. Work with one dough at a time.

Roll each dough into a 12 inch circle.

Line a deep dish pie pan with the crust, overlapping the edges.  Press the crust lightly into the pan, to avoid air pockets.  Set aside while you prepare the Triple Berry Pie Filling below.

Preheat oven at 350°F.

Triple Berry Pie Filling:

2 cups frozen blueberries

2 cups frozen raspberries

1 cup frozen black berries

OR 5 cups frozen Triple Berry Blend – available at Sam’s Club

¼ cup all purpose flour

¼ cup cornstarch

1 cup granulated sugar

¼ tsp. ground nutmeg

Pinch of kosher salt

1½ TBSP. butter  (I used 1 TBSP. Coconut oil)

In a large mixing bowlk, combine flour, sugar, nutmeg and kosher salt.

Set aside ¼ cup of the flour and sugar mixture.  And mix the rest of the sugar mixture with the berries.

Spread the reserved (¼ cup) flour and sugar mixture on the bottom crust.  And then spread over the berries and sugar mixture.

Place the top crust on the pie and gently press down to touch the filling.  Do this to avoid air pockets.  Fold the top edges of the crust under the bottom edges and crimp.

Puncture the top crust with eight ½ inch slits to allow air and moisture.

Mix 1 TBSP. sugar and ½ tsp. ground cinnamon.  Sprinkle sugar and cinnamon mixture over the top crust.

Place the pie in a heavy duty cookie sheet.

Bake pie in a preheated 350°F oven for 50 minutes.

Remove pie from the pan and cool completely before chilling in the refrigerator.

A perfect looking pie.

But we drove 6 1/2 hours from Abilene to Tulsa.  So the pie sat in the car trunk for these many hours.  Imagine all that vibrations from the car in motion.

My perfect looking pie was no longer so perfect by the time we arrived at our destination.  Good thing it still tasted good.  Just no  longer perfect looking.

Serve chilled.

Topped with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

2 thoughts on “Grow Your Wings So You Can Fly

  1. You do have lots to be thankful for Tess. Sometimes it’s our kids that teach us the lessons of life. When things don’t go as planned, that’s ok. It’s alright to veer off the given path, and pursue another direction. Andy has learned the same as Ramon. He’s now working full time, maybe not at the job of his dreams, but that foot is in the door, it’s opened, and he’s there to make himself known to others. Having a supported family there with opened arms is indeed the biggest gift we can give our children.

    Thanksgiving will be at my house this year. Megan won’t make it home, since we just saw her days ago. But Joe’s girlfriend will join us, along with the rest of the family. Your berry pie looks good. I’m making Pumpkin Pie Gingerbread Bars and Apple Crisp. Might throw in another pie, we’ll see. My favorite at Thanksgiving dinner is a moist stuffing with tasty gravy. I know it’s bad for you, but every now & then won’t hurt. I just recently started liking sweet potatoes. Had them over the summer on vacation, and they were cooked to perfection. Maybe someday you can share your Southern Corn Bread Stuffing, and Candied Sweet Potatoes recipe with us 🙂

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING TESS to YOU and the FAMILY

    • Thank you Tess!

      You are right. I have plenty to be thankful for.

      I am glad Andy landed a full time job. And he’s got his foot in the door. He is also lucky to have you and John and as parents…

      BTW… how was your trip to Florida…? I’ll have to swing by your mt page to read the details… 🙂

      I love the idea of Apple Crisp and Pumpkin Pie Gingerbread Bars. Sounds delicious.

      Don’t worry. You can bet I will share the recipes for Southern Cornbread Stuffing and Candied Sweet Potatoes with you guys. The cornbread is just very time consuming to make. So I only make it about twice a year… But the Candied Sweet Potatoes is easy. I will post the recipe Thursday morning… (11/24/10).

      Thanks for stopping by Tess. And

      Happy Thanksgiving to YOU and your FAMILY.

      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

