It’s Like Chasing Something Mysterious

A life size figure at our apartment office.

Our apartment manager always displays elaborate decorations during the Halloween month of October.

Her favorite holiday.  And she seems to outdo herself every year.

So I came in one Saturday afternoon… and took a few pics…

That ball she’s holding makes a loud scary noise…

more Halloween stuff…

The commissary at our military base also has an elaborate display pumpkins and scare crows… I think that’s what they’re called.

I thought they were interesting…

So I took a few pics…

While I giggled like a little girl…

Simple things make me happy.

And to celebrate Halloween…

Well, I don’t really celebrate it.  But I love these Spiced Pumpkin Dried Fruit Cookies…

And I love all the decorations people displays during Halloween…

I want to share this recipe with you.



I think this is one of the most delicious pumpkin cookies I’ve ever had.

When I took the first bite, my senses kept trying to figure out what’s in the cookie.  Then I took another bite.  And another.  It’s like chasing something while trying to figure out its character.

So I ended up consuming several cookies in one setting.

I made these cookies for my husband to snack on at work.   But my son and I ended up eating most of them.

I plan of  making them again in a few days.

I’ll  post a step by step photos then…

These cookies are very good.  Tender and chewy at the same time.  Moist with a cake like texture.  Loaded with dates, raisins, dried pineapple and walnuts.

Almost guilt free and bordering on the healthy side.  And yet, they are sinfully delicious.

Since Ramon and Willie do not like nuts… I had to split the batter.  Half the batter I baked without nuts.  And the other half with walnuts.  For me.

I love nuts!  Pecans.  Walnuts.  Peanuts.  Though I can’t say it loves me all the time…

~~~

NOTE:  If you don’t have an electric mixer like Kitchen Aid, you could also make these cookies by manually mixing them in a large bowl, using a wooden spoon.  Follow same direction.

Here’s the recipe.

Spiced Pumpkin Dried Fruit Cookies

Ingredients:

2 cups ground old fashioned oatmeal (grind oats before measuring)

1 ½ cups all purpose flour

1 TBSP. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

½ tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

¼ tsp. ground cloves

¾ cup or 1 ½ stick unsalted butter, room temperature

1 ¼ cups firmly packed brown sugar

2 extra large eggs – room temperature

1 ½ cups canned pumpkin puree

1 cup pitted dates, chopped

½ cup dried pineapple, finely chopped

1 ½ cups raisins

1 ½ cups walnuts – coarsely chopped (optional)

Preheat oven to 375°F.

Grease 3 baking sheets by rubbing them with butter.  Or line the baking sheets with parchment paper.

Ground oatmeal in a food processor until it resembles a coarse sand.

In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground cloves.  Add ground oats and stir with spatula until well combined.  Set aside.

Using a stand up mixer, cream the butter and sugar together in the mixing bowl using the paddle attachment.

Add eggs one at a time, beating just until blended with the butter and sugar mixture.  Add the pumpkin puree and continue to blend over medium speed.

Stop the mixer and scrape the sides and bottom of the mixing bowl.

Add the flour and oat mixture.  Blend over low speed (stir) until mixture is smooth and creamy.

Add dates, pineapple, raisins and walnuts.  Blend well.

For each cookie, scoop 3 tablespoons of batter onto the prepared baking sheets.  Allow 9 – 13 cookies per sheet.

Bake in a preheated oven at 375°F for 12 – 14 minutes.  Do not over bake.

Remove and cool in a wire rack.

Stores at room temperature for up to 5 days.

Yield:  3 ½ dozens

Tess’ Kitchen Secrets:

#1 – Ground oatmeal give these cookies a “cake like” texture.  But if you don’t have a food processor and unable to ground the oatmeal.  You may use them as is.  I just prefer ground oatmeal.

#2 – Dried fruits make these cookies chewy.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

7 thoughts on “It’s Like Chasing Something Mysterious

  1. These cookies look delicious Tess. I like spicing up my baking every now and then. Something different other than chocolate or peanut butter all the time. These look to be a soft cookie, and I bet there awesome dunked in coffee or hot cocoa 🙂

  2. Your building manager is AWESOME….tell her I luv what she has done to the place. Halloween is my favorite holiday of all time & I can’t wait to start celebrating it tonite….bring it on 🙂 We are going to a friend’s house on Sunday to watch them give out candy to the lil rug rats. Notice how I didn’t say chocolates…..that’s cause I plan on eating all the chocolates ….LOL. Your cookies are perfect & I’m gunna make them tomorrow to bring with on Sunday…..I’m pretty sure all my friends are gunna luv them. Thnx for another gr8 recipe.

    HAPPY HALLOWEEN TESS 🙂

    • Hey Tess ~ just wanted to let you know that your cookies were a big hit tonite with everyone 🙂 I didn’t add the walnuts or raisins but they were still gr8. I’m going to NJ for Thanksgiving & plan on making these again for the holiday. Awesome cookies…..thnx 🙂

      HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!!!!

      • Hi, Mario!

        Thank you for coming back to let me know how your cookies turned out.

        I am happy to hear that they came out good. That you and your friends enjoyed them!

        I always like to hear a success story… Thank you. 🙂

        Yes… Happy Halloween to you too!!!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s Like Chasing Something Mysterious « AmerAsian Home Cooking -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

