Deep In A Dream

“What I fear most, I think, is the death of the imagination… if I sit still and don’t do anything, the world goes on beating like a slack drum, without meaning.  We must be moving, working, making dreams to run toward; the poverty of life without dreams is too horrible to imagine.”

Sylvia Plath

If you could choose your dream, what would it be…?

There were two dreams I constantly dreamed of every night:  flying and visiting a well lighted town – a beautiful, utopian town out of this world.

I must have been four or five years old when, every night, I dreamed I can fly.  Flying, not with a broom unlike a witch, nor like a bird with wings, but with just my whole body floating up in the air – in space, just below the clouds.

Every night, when I went to bed, I looked forward to my dream.  My dream of just floating, light as a feather, looking down at everyone going about their business… looking down at green grassy fields and rows and rows of lush green trees.  And at the nipa huts below, sparsely scattered.  In my dream, it was always a nice day, with clear blue sky and a very light breeze; soothing and relaxing… Moments before I’d wake up from my dream… I slowly lower myself down to the ground and slip back into our nipa hut with no one noticing my absence.

When I was a little girl, we lived in a small nipa hut about 200 yards from the river.  And along this river – were rows of tall, green leafy trees, all about the same height – 20 feet and the same size.  I was told by my father, who, at that time believed in supernatural beings to include paranormal and fairies, that these rows of trees could be a fairy town inhabited by people we can’t see.  It had to be.  They were beautifully lined along the river, like a well architectured buildings of the same colors and sizes.

During harvest season… he would go down the river and place an offering of cooked chicken, rice and a glass of Pepsi – placed on the flattest part of the trunk of the tree.  This was his was of saying: thanks to the supernatural beings – people he couldn’t see, who he believed have made it possible for him to harvest his rice field.

And one day, he told me a secret…

“If you ever see a man or a woman.  But it’s usually going to be a woman – a beautiful woman, with high pointed nose, pale skin and long black hair.  Pay attention to her.  Look at her closely.  The way to tell if she is among us or if she is among the fairies… look at her upper lip.  If she doesn’t have a philtrum – it’s the hollow space between the upper lip and the nose.  If that area is flat… then you’ll know that she is a fairy.  The only catch is that… if you befriended her and she invited you to her world, you will never be allowed to come back to us.  And if you are… you will see us, but we will never see you…”

I loved the idea of going to the world of fairies…

So… in addition to my dream of flying every night.  I started imagining vividly that, that those rows of trees along the river, were in fact a beautiful town, with beautiful houses, with glittering lights, and beautiful people living in it.  But this town… no one else could see, but me.  I imagined that one day I will make friends with one of the those people and eventually stay with them, in their beautiful homes.  I’d imagine this every night before I went to bed in our hard bamboo floor, with only old clothes rolled up to cushion our heads.  Each night as I closed my eyes… I have a faint smile on my face for one day what I have been imagining will ultimately come true.  And that night, I will dream again of flying…floating up in the air, in a clear blue sky…

Every day… I had dreamed this same dream up until I was a freshman in college.  And then one day it just stopped. IT STOPPED!

My dream of flying was replaced by a dream of falling off a deep narrow valley.  And I always woke up screaming.  I dreamed like this for years…  And it was only a few years ago that it stopped.  I am thankful that it stopped.  For every night that I dreamed of falling, I wake up panting.  My heart beat as loud as a thunder with a speed of galloping wild horses.

But… how I wish I could dream of flying again… soaring up in the clear blue sky…

~~~

Burgers are easy and simple to make.   And with just a few touch up, you can make them gourmet.  These burgers are slightly different than your normal burgers.  They are more flavorful and yet still easy to make.  My son loves the bacon wrapping around the burgers and the cheese filling inside.

These burgers are seasoned with simple seasonings which you are most likely have in your pantry.

Bacon Wrapped Burgers

1½ pounds ground beef – 93 – 96% lean

¼ medium onion – finely diced

6 garlic cloves – smashed, peeled and finely chopped

2 tsps. kosher salt

2 tsps. lemon – pepper seasoning

1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

3 sprigs of Italian parsley – chopped

6 bacon slices

5 slices extra sharp cheddar cheese

Other Ingredients and Condiments:

5 Burger buns

Tomato slices

Shredded lettuce

Avocado slices (optional)

Mayonnaise or mustard

Extra Crispy French Fries – Restaurant Style

In a large mixing bowl, combine ground beef, onion, garlic, salt, lemon pepper seasoning, black pepper, and parsley.  Divide into 10 equal portions.

Form burger portions into 10 patties.  Place 1 square of cheddar cheese over each patty, and top with another patty.  Press around the edges to seal the cheese.  Wrap each patty with one bacon slice.

Heat a skillet and cook the burger patties over medium heat, until bacon is crispy and burgers are cooked.  About 4 – 5 minutes on each side.

Smear the buns with mayonnaise or mustard.  Or both.  Line the buns with shredded lettuce, and sliced tomatoes.  Place the burger on top and cover with the top bun.

Serve burgers warm with French fries.

Tess’ Kitchen Secret:

#1 – I buy the Ore Ida Extra Crispy French Fries – Restaurant Style.  My son loves this stuff.  Definitely not your regular fries.  I’d have this cooking in the oven while I cook the  burgers.

#2 – I warm the buns in a preheated oven at 350°F for 5 – 6 minutes, by placing the buns directly on the oven rack.  Using tong to remove buns onto a large baking sheet.

#3 – I use ground sirloin beef.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess Harris

2 thoughts on “Deep In A Dream

  1. Tess, I only got a quick minute as I “fly by”. I’m still packing for my trip. I saw the movie, Julie & Julia last night. If you’ve yet not watched it, please do so. So many times throughout that movie, I thought of you! lol And as for your dreams….Follow them! Never know where they may take you. Those bacon burgers look so yummy. Talk with you when I get back. Hugs! 🙂

    • Tess,

      Thanks for stopping by despite of your hectic schedule.

      And thanks for reminding me about the movie Julie and Julia. I finally watched it yesterday. You’re right. I Enjoyed the movie and in several scenes – it reminded me of myself. 🙂

      See you when you get back from Alaska…

      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

