Highly Addictive Granola

My son is 18 years old, and he eats this every single day for breakfast, and he tops his fruit sorbet with this too!

This recipe can be a granola bar, but I prefer to crumble, and add it  to a breakfast cereal.  I don’t limit myself. I eat this for breakfast, snacks, and dessert and not feel guilty about it.  This granola is loaded with dried fruits, and sliced almonds, which are high in fiber.

I started making this sometime in August on a search for something good and healthy, and I have been making this since, every two weeks for my son.

I was at a large supermarket several months ago, buying dried fruits and sliced almonds.  And next to the dried fruits were plastic containers of granola.  By the look of those, I was almost shocked to see how dried they were.  I think they were mostly oatmeal and less fruits and nuts.  I don’t know… let’s just say that they did not look appealing.  Even if I am feeling too lazy, I don’t think I can make myself buy them, let alone eat them.

Anyway…

If you’re like me, you might want to try this granola recipe, that we are crazy about.

Ingredients:

3 cups old fashioned oatmeal

1 ½ cups sliced almonds

1 cup finely grated coconut, unsweetened (available in health food stores)

¾ cup honey

½ cup Brown sugar

3 TBSPs. Coconut oil

2 TBSPs. Coconut milk or water

2 tsps. pure vanilla extract

¼ tsp. kosher salt

1 cup whole pitted dates – chopped

¾ cup dried cranberries (Ocean’s Spray – original flavor, sweetened)

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease a 9” x 13” x 2” baking pan with coconut oil. (It’s best to nonstick baking pan, like Baker’s Secret, because it tends to make the granola crunchier.)

In a large mixing bowl, combine oatmeal, almonds and grated coconut.  Pour mixture into a thick or heavy duty baking sheet (available in restaurant supply stores).  Bake for 12 minutes.  Remove from the oven and toss.  Bake for another 5 minutes or until lightly browned.  Remove from the oven and cool while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

In a heavy bottomed sauce pan, combine honey, brown sugar, coconut oil, coconut milk, vanilla extract and kosher salt.  Stir and bring to a boil over medium heat.  Let mixture boil for about 1 minute.  Turn off heat.

In a large mixing bowl, add dates and cranberries.  Add the toasted oatmeal, almonds and coconut mixture.  Pour over the sweet liquid mixture.  Stir until well combined and the granola are coated with the sweet liquid.  Pour mixture into the prepared baking pan.  Wet your hands and lightly press granola, evenly into the pan.  Bake for 28 minutes.

Cool for at least 3 hours before cutting into bars, and or crumbling them.  Store in a tightly covered plastic container.  Will last about 4 – 5 days at room temperature, longer if stored in the refrigerator.  If refrigerated, just be sure take the out and allow them to come to room temperature before serving.

Note: You can substitute coconut oil with 5 tablespoons butter, and omit the coconut milk.

Enjoy and Happy Cooking!

Tess

4 thoughts on “Highly Addictive Granola

  1. Pingback: Life Of A Welding Student … and the Food He Eats « AmerAsian Home Cooking

  2. I mix my breakfast up between yogurt or granola cereal. Unfortunately, most of the granola brands out there don’t add enough fruit and nuts to the mixture. I’m not big on pitted dates, but love dried fruits. This is definitely something I could see myself trying. Would have to wait til after Easter though because of the sugar. It’s so hard finding cereal that is free of all sugar. The only one I’ve found, and we are eating, is the plain Shredded Wheat. I add fresh blueberries or strawberries to sweeten it up. Let me know if you know of any other cold cereals out there that contain NO flour or NO sugar. John also eats grits, but there not for me. This granola look so tempting…..Thanks Tess, great recipe!

  3. Tess this looks & sounds yummy. They are very healthy & something I can easily throw in the gym bag for a pick me up snack while working out.

    Gr8 website. Well done!

    • Good to see you here, Mario.
      I just added the ‘note’ on this particular recipe, not sure if you’ve seen it.
      … it might be easier for you to substitute the coconut oil with butter. please see my note…

Leave a Reply

